Welcome to the NFA Awards 2014

The NFA awards recognise the most innovative projects from around the country, and honour the commitment and dedication of ALMO staff who work hard to create sustainable homes and prosperous communities. The awards also celebrate ALMOs working in partnership with others to create opportunities to positively improve the quality of life for their tenants and residents.

The ALMO sector has proven itself to be a diverse and responsive sector. These awards offer an opportunity to showcase the fantastic work currently being delivered by ALMOs and their local authorities across England.

The 2014 awards will open for entries on 14 February 2014.

All new awards categories and format for 2014

The awards ceremony will form part of the NFA 2014 Annual Conference: Building on Firm Foundation, and winners will be announced at the awards ceremony and gala dinner on the evening of 16 July 2014. The event will take place at the Midland Hotel in Manchester.

On the evening there will a pre dinner drinks reception, followed by an awards ceremony and gala dinner with entertainment, providing you with the perfect opportunity to celebrate your organisation's achievements with colleagues and residents.

This years 'all new' awards categories have been redesigned to align closely to the key priorities identified within the NFA 2015 Election Manifesto. Not only to celebrate the innovation and good practice that can be adopted by others within the sector, but to evidence to Government the unique and positive contribution ALMOs make to economic growth and the well being of local communities.

In the run up to the 2015 General Election we have also introduced a new award that recognises the critical role press and communications activity and campaigns at local level have, both to influencing policy and/or to ensure successful and effective communication with tenants and residents.

The ten categories for the 2014 awards are:

  1. Best new build scheme
  2. Managing energy efficiency and fuel poverty
  3. Improving the Private Rented Sector offer
  4. Integrating housing care and support
  5. Tackling worklessness
  6. Helping tenants prepare for Universal Credit through digital inclusion
  7. Managing the impact of welfare reform through financial inclusion
  8. Most innovative social enterprise partnership
  9. Most effective communication campaign
  10. Apprentice of the year

Deadline for entries is 12 noon 16 May 2014

Finalists will be announced on 20 June 2014

For any further information about the awards, or if you would be interested in sponsoring one of the awards please contact:

Jodie Willis. Event Co-ordinator
Direct Line: 024 7685 1722
E-mail: jodie.willis@cih.org